Never pass up a chance to sit down or relieve yourself. -old Apache saying

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Here's a great site for space and science buffs - SPACE.COM.

Just say no to the bible thumpers!

They also publish a good calendar of space-related events which I may have to merge with the Stargazing calendar.  

April 8: SpaceX will launch a commercial Falcon 9 rocket from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida to send an unmanned Dragon cargo ship to the International Space Station for NASA. Liftoff is set for 4:43 p.m. EDT (2043 GMT). This CRS-8 flight is SpaceX's eighth resupply mission for NASA. You can watch the launch live on here courtesy of NASA TV.
April 10: SpaceX Dragon arrives at International Space Station. SpaceX's CRS-8 Dragon cargo ship will be captured by the station's robotic arm at 7 a.m. EDT (1100 GMT). Live coverage from NASA TV begins at 5:30 a.m. EDT (0930 GMT)
April 11-14: The 32nd annual National Space Symposium will convene in Colorado Springs, Colorado this week, with space policy makers and industry veterans meeting to discuss the latest and greatest in space technology, exporation and utilization.'s Calla Cofield will be on the scene covering the event. 
April 12:  It's Yuri's Night! Celebrate the 55th anniversary of  Yuri Gagarin's historic first human spaceflight (and 35th anniversary of the NASA's first space shuttle launch) today. Yuri Gagarin's Vostok 1 mission launched today in 1961, with NASA's STS-1 flight on the shuttle Columbia blasting off on the same day 20 years later in 1981.
April 16: BEAM inflatable module installation on the International Space Station. Bigelow Aeropace's prototype expandable space habitat will be removed from the "trunk" of a SpaceX Dragon capsule and attacked to the space station. NASA TV coverage begins at 5:30 a.m. EDT (0930 GMT)
April 16-19: The April meeting of the American Physical Society will meet this week in Salt Lake City, Utah.'s Calla Cofield will be on the scene covering the event. 
April 18: That bright "star" near the moon tonight is Jupiter, which can be seen 2 degrees north of the moon for skywatchers with clear skies. Mercury will also be at its greatest elongation tonight.
April 22:  The European Space Agency's Sentinel 1B radar Earth-observation satellite, and the NORSAT 1 microsatellite built to to investigate solar radiation, space weather and detect ship traffic, will launch from South America's Guiana Space Center in Kourou, French Guiana on an Arianespace Soyuz rocket. Liftoff is set for 5:02 p.m. EDT (2102 GMT).
April 22: Full Moon – The April full moon is called the pink moon, Sprouting Grass Moon, the Egg Moon, and the Fish Moon.
April 22: Lyrids Meteor Shower Peak - Considered to be the oldest known meteor shower, the Lyrid meteor shower is an annual display of fairly fast meteors. The best time to watch will be after midnight and before dawn. The Lyrids are actually leftovers from the Comet Thatcher.
April 25: First Soyuz rocket launch from Vostochny Cosmodrome. Russia's Federal Spaec Agency (Roscosmos) is expeced to launch the satellite Mikhailo Lomonosov from the country's newest spaceport, the Vostochny Cosmodrome. According to Spaceflight Now the satellite will study high-energy cosmic rays, gamma rays and the Earth's upper atmosphere and magnetosphere. Spaceflight Now also reports that two smaller satellites, called Aist 2 and SamSat 218, will also launch on the Soyuz.
April 28: India will loft a Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle carrying the IRNSS 1G navigation satellite in a mission to be staged from the Satish Dhawan Space Center in Sriharikota, India.
Or go here.

No comments: